Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 18, 2005 - 22:51 MDT

ABOUT IT

Tonight I did something very seldom done by me. I pulled up the hassock and stuck my ear into the TV and watched a program on PBS. The title was "The Torture Question." I sat through the whole thing and think I heard most all of it.

Many people connected to GITMO and Iraq treatment of prisoners talked very frankly about things that happened in those places, things that they were more or less forced by upper brass to do.

Unsaid was the possibility that much of that treatment is still going on, out of sight of the world.

Sick to heart to learn just how bad it has been, I can't say too much tonight. Other than I do hope that many of our public figures in this country who have been prisoners of other countries and subjected to torture will come out and lay the cards on the table saying that, "This is not the way America will treat anybody !" They have been subjected to torture in all its many guises and should speak out and insist the Geneva Convention apply to all human beings - regardless.

The thing that bothers me is if our Preemptive Premier vetos the measure now being considered, what are the commonsense folks in Washington D.C. going to do ABOUT IT? . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008