Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 20, 2005 - 18:31 MDT

LITTLE PHILOSOPHY

One of those old, "You know you are getting old when . . . . . . moments for me.

It appears to me that victory in our old minds is when the pain eases enough that the condition can be fought rapidly enough to be able to fight the next life complication.

Heather is doing better than I expected last night. Taking her anti-biotics as per specification and using Extra Strength Tylenol today rather than the Percocet she was taking last night. She remarks her pain is quite a bit less, for which I am thankful. So for the moment it appears thing are on the upbeat, but you know, there is the feeling of, "When is the next shoe going to drop and upon whom, where." The old AA adage of living it, "One Day At A Time," seems to me to be the only way to go.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Did have time to read a bit of the news this morning and noticed in an article by David D. Kirkpatrick of The New York Times an article headlined ANSWERS NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR SENATE, MIERS TOLD

One section somewhat illuminates the dim atmosphere in Foggy Bottom,

" "The senators -- Republican Arlen Specter of Pennsylvania and Vermont Democrat Patrick Leahy -- sent Meirs a letter faulting what they call incomplete responses about her legal career, her work in the White house, her potential conflicts on cases involving the administration and the suspension of her license by the District of Columbia Bar." "They called her responses "inadequate," "insufficient" and insulting." This, a bipartisan letter .

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

In my dewy eyed take on it, a person should not even consider sitting on the Bench at the Supreme Court if their career shows the slightest bit of bias, prejudice, nor should they go for it if they intend activist actions to overturn what has already been made law. I have no respect for those in the administration who are pushing the "Intelligent Design" idea and I loathe the thought of abortion being forbidden because our dearly beloved Court overturns Roe vs Wade. My own personal feelings that I have a right to express. This "Faith Based Government" that is giving tax dollars to religious organizations and allowing them to discriminate against employees and things like that is beyond the pale I think. 'Nuff said.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Trying to get things in somewhat of a light of perspective and comparison. From what I have read the death toll was over 1,000 in New Orleans, but have not seen any figures on the toll in the other Gulf states from Katrina. In an item by the Associated Press today figures are quoted from Pakistan, where the death toll is now up to 79,000. The item goes on to say, "However the death toll in Pakistan is unlikely to come close to December's magnitude 9.0 quake and tsunami that killed more than 176,000 people -- most of them in Indonesia -- or a magnitude 8.2 tremblor that killed at least 240,000 in Tangshan, China in 1976.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

There must be figures compiled somewhere of the death toll from Katrina from its first land fall in the islands on through its disastrous course, I am sure lives were lost in Central America and Mexico. I fear what havoc is being already wreaked by Hurrican Wilma and fear yet more what devastation will be done to our country when it gets this far north. And Hurricane season is not over for this year yet, Dear God, what next ?

Seeing the big picture alongside the little one of our personal lives takes one hell of an expansion of my LITTLE PHILOSOPHY . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008