Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-10-30 - 22:48 MST

October 30, 2000

Whys

People will pass me to gain a car length, when they can't possibly go faster than the traffic, why ? People drive on the high speed lane of an Interstate Highway and cut across the face of the oncoming traffic to get onto an off ramp. why ? In the super market a person will get into the "6 items only" checkout lane with 15 items, a handful of expired coupons and expect to write an unapproved check, why ? Those people will also go into a "6 item only - cash only" line and pull the same stuff, why ? Sometimes there is road work ahead and the flashing arrow is showing above the cars - yet some drivers stay in that lane going like hell and forcing their way in at the last moment, why? There are people who cut into any line ahead of those waiting, why ?

Why do I remember I need my billfold with my drivers license and debit card only after I have driven one mile from home OR reach for it at the checkout counter ? Why do I leave my coat in the car and can't quite realize why I can't find it on the hall tree ? Why do I stand to do business and when done feel froggy and walk away without my cane and only come to my senses when my body says, "Hey, where the heck is my support ? Why do I do that stupid cane bit and leave it hanging on the grocery cart, get in the car and drive off and then wonder where it is when I need it at home ? Why can I set something down for just a minute and spend the entire evening hunting the durn thing and on remembering when I find it that it is just where I put it ? Why don't I always make a point of checking our calendar each day ? Why do I miss appointments because of that ?

I make my own mistakes, and do my own miserable suffering for them and try to remind myself, "Hey dummy don't do that again," which also leaves my memory on a greased slide.

I said to myself, "Bastion, why aren't you perfect ? " The answer comes thundering down from the clouds, "Because you are human -- and tick me off."

Enough with the Whys . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008