Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 24, 2005 - 18:40 PST

THANKSGIVING

There is local, state, country and world news aplenty. But today for me is a day that I count my blessings. As many as I can think of anyway.

Some of the blessings I have always had but didn�t really realize how much of a blessing each thing is, until I grew up a bit.

I suppose I could write a list, probably about ten miles long, which would be conceited to the utmost. Or I could say nothing, which would make me look insensitive. Instead I shall just mention a few.

I was born with the standard issue of blessings, none of which occurred to me as a blessing until I had grown enough to see some folks who had lost their hearing, sight, sense of smell, touch and such things as that. Now as I grow older yet I hoard what I still have of those blessings, clutch them closer to my breast. Along with that the blessing of a loving wife has been borne in on my soul by seeing those who don�t have a loving, tolerant mate. The treasure of loving children, grandchildren and great grandchildren are blessings that many folks as old as I am don�t have. Then there are the myriad friends, many who I have never met face to face or have heard their voices, other than what I read on the screen of my comupter. To a man who is getting progressively deaf, those unseen unheard friends can talk to me on my screen and I can hear every word they type - - - A blessing indeed.

Two blessings I have are the ability to love and act on it, and the ability to appreciate good music, poetry, books, art and our seasons which come with their own beautiful sights and smells.

Two other blessings are being a native of this country and the God given prerogative of expressing my feelings.

For these and those unlisted I say with my whole heart and soul, words of THANKSGIVING . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008