Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-11-10 - 21:12 MST

November 10, 2000

Elder Statesman

I thought I had seniority, conceited wasn't it, though ? Today an eightythree year old man paid me the ultimate compliment, admitting he has been reading me. Gee whillikers, I am thrilled to the core and am paying respectful attention to him.

He asked if I knew any eighty year old people on the net or seventy year olds too.

To me, age is a relative thing, young Kaycee of Living Colors who is suffering greatly and fighting with valor to conquer the ailment affecting her, expresses her thoughts far more cogently and maturely than a lot of us spoiled old folks, and gripes a lot less too.

I retired at age 69, ten years ago. For many years even my supervisors were young squirts compared to me. I loved being around younger people -- still do in fact, watching them perfect themselves in the art of living and solving the problems that affect us all at one time or another. I think it helps me to keep a youthful outlook and response to things much as younger people exhibit. A man is a man, even if he is a ten year old and a girl is a woman from the earliest time she shows the need to nurture. In my opinion anyway.

But there is a certain fellowship needed amongst we who have been around the track for a few laps. Members of the Old Country Store cracker barrel club, who value the old days for what they were and know well just exactly what that was.

So, if any of you happen to know of any oldsters in their seventies or eighties who are on the net and like to communicate with a member of that age group -- please put them in touch with Robert whose addy is [email protected] We old farts gotta hang together and the female members who are classified as "squiffs" have the need too, I think.

Too bad they didn't turn the world over to us when we were in our teens and knew it all, you know youth is wasted on the young and lusted for by the aged ! So, this drivel is from one of the Elder Statesmen . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008