Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-11-15 - 17:30 MST

November 15, 2000

Almost A Century

Stream of consciousness writing tonight. Words appear as thoughts occur.

This wonderful man has passed on to a better place leaving, his equally wonderful wife and great girl family. Today Heather and I went to his memorial service, one very well attended. Didn't surprise me a bit.

He and his wife are in my earliest memories. Once when visiting over at their place, Mom, Dad and his wife went some where for a bit leaving me with this about 23 year old man. He had his hands full. I cannot remember exactly how I made my displeasure felt and how I felt being left behind by Mom and Dad. Knowing myself I am sure that a vocality ruled.

They have a daughter my age and I can't remember whether she was taken along or was taking a nap. My memory tells me that it was just he and I.

My Dad and he once worked together, one moved to another department. both stayed with the same company until retirement. My Mom and his wife were friends also, who met while working at the same place.

We were close. close enough in fact that somewhere in school when I had to fill out some damn paper or another and, you know, fill in all the spaces and don't go out of the lines, I started listing relatives (geez, were they ever nosy in the 20's) I listed he and his wife as my uncle and aunt and his daughters as cousins. Later on Dad saw what I had filled in and told me that they were just friends of the family and I said something to the effect that they were as good or better family than the ones already in place. I do love my cousins and loved their Dad -- another person who was almost a saint, the soul of kindness and concern, so my remark was unfair.

I never really noticed the boy, girl difference between us. What was supremely self evident to me was we were bonded although at that time I didn't know the word, but sure knew the feeling.

Uncle and his family moved to Colorado Springs, about 63 miles from Denver because that is where his job took him. I was bereft even though Dad and Mom and myself would ride south on Suicide Drive (US 85-87 then now occupied by big broad I -25) fairly frequently to visit them. Back then 63 miles one way was a pretty good day trip, not leaving near enough time for a good visit.

Oh, what wonderful memories I have of those days. We would meet some where near the Florissant Fossil Beds at a little camp out spot that had the fire place and flat ground enough for camping or picnicing. And an all out picnic would be had, I remember that Uncle was a super good cook as well as an accomplished eater. The girls and I would play together having a good time too. The respite from the cities was good and the outdoor cooking and the goodies carried from home made a feast beyond belief. I remember that once, my Dad's brother and family came on one of those celebrations of life, which added two more kids to the group.

Somewhere in junior high school I was in love with the oldest girl, which amounted to worship from a distance really. It seemed though, that life was going too fast and being in different schools kept us from having common experiences and teachers. We gradually grew apart as we grew up. I left high school and went to work and would hear news of Uncle and his family but there was no chance for us kids to see one another.

By the time World War Two was over most of us were married and doing the family thing and had been too far apart to try to get together again. I guess maybe the fear of jealous mates had something to do with no attempt being made.

When we returned to Denver in 1960 my dad told me of a job opportunity with his company in a department supervised by Uncle, a chance for some schooling and a period of work in New York City at a damn good rate of pay. It was all pretty well arranged for me to come in and put in an application when Uncle said, "Wait a minute, you and Lady Bug are the same age aren't you ?" What else could I say but, "Yes." His question was rhetorical, he knew already. Then he sadly told me that one of the requirements of the job required men much younger than I. Back then qualifications could be whatever the company said and that left me out. But in talking to him I did find out that his wife and girls were doing fine.

They were always there in the wings of the stage of my consciousness. About two or three months ago I talked to Uncle and he seemed to be in good health and vibrantly alive, his kind heart and good cheer were there still as always, and we sort of set up the plan that whenever Heather and I wanted to come see them we should phone a few hours ahead. Heather and I would say to each other, tomorrow or next Monday or what ever we were thinking about -- that we would call and go over and visit.

The other day Heather was looking at the Senior's Scoreboard (Obits) and his name was there in the announcements, at 99 years old he had slipped away to a better place. Another thing to add to my list of things left undone and regretted.

We ordered flowers and attended. After the service we got to the tail end of the line and I introduced myself, Aunt and her girls surrounded me with loves and hugs, we hadn't seen each other until the last of the eighth grade I think and in some strange way, there was youth between us now --- in our old age.

Born in 1901, Uncle made life better and enjoyable for everyone and was here Almost A Century . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008