Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-12-04 - 18:47 MST

December 4, 2000

Coordination

Preparing for a trip anymore is a hassle for us. First off - neither Heather nor I can handle multiple pieces of baggage nor can we handle weighty things. Sounds simple, but it is complicated for us because we have to weigh all the factors carefully. How much and what kind of clothing to take as we will be visiting a household where the washing machine is in service most of the time ? What necessities of life do we need to take that can't be purchased at destination ? Shoes, what kind and how many pair ? And then the printed pages of stuff and newspaper articles to be transported there. And the things we were asked to bring with us that can't be bought there.

Then of course the things thought of at the last minute which require biting the bullet and jerking something out of the mass to make room. Fortunately I can pack most everything I need into one of those newfangled roll around pieces of luggage which will go through the template for carry on and my carry on ditty bag (which I can shove under the seat ahead of me). Heather has most of her stuff packed in a like container, her carry on ditty bag and her purse.

The roll arounds are checked through plus the two more allowed pieces of checkable luggage doing freighting service both to and from there, women seem to shop wherever they are. So Heather and I walk aboard with ditty bags and her purse.

Ah yes to do that, someone takes us to DIA and helps us get our stuff checked in, and someone has to meet us and manhandle the baggage there. The packing is a bit easier for me as being a non-smoker now, there is a bit more space. I used to pack a carton of cigarettes for each week I would be gone -- the price on generics is too high most anywhere else.

One thing not mentioned yet is the routine Heather and I faithfully do. Pill counting, counting the number of days we have from now until our return and counting out the numbers of each medication needed. If we are going to run short while gone we order refills on our prescriptions and pick them up in plenty of time to pack them in our ditty bags. Doing it that way we have sufficient to last us, paid for at the price we could afford, and have them at our feet so as to take them on schedule. I remember once we flew home to Denver from Eugene via San Francisco (another United Screwup) and were delayed departing from Frisco for several hours -- so our pills were handily with us instead of being in the cargo hold.

Then at the Denver end someone meets us and takes us home. This cranky old man neither walks fast nor far, so the rest stops are frequent. Oh for the days of throwing something in a bag and leaving on a moments notice.

For quite some time I have been receiving lessons, taught by necessity, about Coordination . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008