Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-12-22 - 01:33:23

December 21, 2000

Moan And Groan

We arrived at the airport two and a half hours before flight time and found that our gate was at the very end of a concourse. I wasn�t sure we would have to camp out on the way, but we dragged into to the seats there and flopped down.

Near flight time the unreadable P.A. system put out a bunch of jazz and Heather interpreted for me telling me that the flight was overbooked for the space available on the available aircraft and the aircraft couldn�t take off until x number of people would agree to take the evening flight. Translation � somebody goofed royally.

Why these things happen to a person when they are sick and hurting is a mystery of the ages. Anyhow, Heather and I moved to seats up by the boarding entrance and waited our chance. As soon as a United employee came up to the ticket swallowing machine, we jumped up and were third in line to board, had our paper tickets processed and went on board to be seated.

All kinds of blithering blather went on up front amounting that there were more people booked for the flight than the available aircraft could carry . . . . soooory ! Which seemed to stretch time to the breaking point. But down the road a bit they all seemed to agree and the doors were closed.

We then were taken on the longest damn taxi I ever experienced, it was for an unbelievable distance and seemed to be made at a crawling pace. Of course then came the protracted wait until we could make our takeoff run.

Once in the air and passing the turbulent air, which flows down from the Rockies to Denver we were at altitude and in smooth air. With aching sinuses and the aches attendant to what ever virus I have, trying to pass the miserable time by reading Stephen King�s, �On Writing,� which didn�t work though and so sat back and waited for the plastic sandwich and gooey whatever (macaroni salad this time) and a soft drink, snaffled two of the soft drinks from the attendant and munched on the cheapy �Party Mix,� until my stomach rebelled, then made a run for the head. Back in my seat, grumpier than normal, unable to sleep, I tried to make up stories about the people aboard. I spent some time making up one about the young, slender, blonde lady who appeared to be about twenty-one years old who dug in the ditty bag and while coughing and snorting, pulled out her package of crayons and coloring book. She would color a little and cough, color a little and snort, all the time staying within the lines. She quit that later and took out a book, I would have liked to be able to read the title just for fun.

Eventually we cut through a layer of low hanging clouds and landed at Eugene, and it was as smooth and nice a landing as was the take off at Denver.

Heather and I were not expecting for daughter to come pick us up till a bit later, so we headed down towards the baggage carousel and were surrounded by a joyful daughter who had gone upstairs to the gate and missed us. Her voice has matured but the happiness and warmth were both there as it was when she was a tot piping in her voice, �Daddeeee,� when I arrived home from work. Now, a more or less middle-aged woman � depending on your computation of age. For me being twice her age plus three years she seems to be a kid still. One who has a ten year old boy, an eight year old girl, a husband and her hands full to the max.

She loaded our luggage and we proceeded to go pick up her kids from school and then to her house on the hill. I masterfully carried my little ditty bag upstairs and leaving the rest of our baggage for grandson who at ten years old is almost as tall as I am and a durn sight stronger, inhaled a cup of coffee while passing some small talk around and then went to lie down. Heather came woke me up and asked if I was interested in supper. I went to eat more as a duty, than from hunger. I did treasure being with daughter and her family until bed time for the kids whereupon I went to bed for fourteen and a half hours. Woke up the next day feeling a bit better but with an aching body from laying like a log all night for more hours than my body likes to endure.

Well, for a trip that started out so nasty my course is now upward and will be filled with fun and happiness.

No more Moan and Groan . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008