Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-12-28 - 16:32 PST

December 28, 2000

Brownies

This afternoon was Brownie Girl Scout meeting here at daughter's residence. Seemed to me to be a type of high tea here. There were scones, sour cream, grape jelly and the durndest assortment of Pepperidge Farm crunchy mmmmm good cookies on the table.

Men and boys were barred from the proceedings, from the other room we heard the murmur of refined, civil, girl speak. As they came in and passed us by, noted was the fact that they were all squeaky clean, perfectly dressed, coiffed to super stylish yet mildly done hair.

Not boisterous like boys at their meetings -- or should I have said boys-terous. The little girls were so good it was like fingernails scraping down a chalkboard -- the suspense was terrible and we guys waiting for a clamor of some kind or another sat on the edge of our chairs, just waiting for a ruckus. But the storm never blew in, meeting over and the girls left in good spirits amongst exchanged goodbyes.

What can a happy and proud grandpa say ? Our baby daughter's daughter acting like her mother taught 'er ?

Heather and I must have done something right along the way. And that baby girl of ours has muchly improved herself beyond our teachings. How lucky we have been with all our kids -- except the one living in an assisted living home. But even that one is happy.

Wow, our kids, raising their own kids and some of the said kids are now raising their own progeny. Proves that time goes on and so do families, most of them anyway.

My heart swells with elation and pride, not for what Heather and I have done in raising -- but for how they have brought themselves above the level that we could not have imagined.

Noting that many of the children our grandchildren's ages are similar in behavior and actions gives me the feeling that there is hope for our country after all. Of course the boys exhibit some of the same ornery, rebellion and go as far as they can in riling up the old folks, but I see nothing vicious about a kid wanting to extend bedtime to a later date, can anyone ? It is not that I only see what our grandkids are doing and coming up, but observing much that is going on today among the young is good, oh, so good.

I hope beyond hope that this kind of children will outnumber the abused, ill raised children sometime in the future.

There are elves, pixies and then there are Brownies . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008