Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-12-30 - 02:57:00

December 30, 2000

Leap Or Fall ?

We either fell into the millenium January 1, 2000 or we are going to leap into the unknown shortly. What will come into being or will happen in the next 1000 years? To what depths will we sink or to what lofty altitudes shall we climb ?

I humbly wonder what will come about for the children of my children and their progeny. It is frightening, maybe doubly so that I will no longer be around to worry about them. Their parents are doing a good job -- it is the rest of society and their kinks that worry me. There is no guarantee on length of life, and none on the quality of same. There also no guarantee as to the good character we hope will exist in the as yet unformed and unraised souls of our family, or anyone else's for that matter.

I guess this is where prayer comes in . . . . . no matter your god, or lack thereof -- there surely is something we can earnestly pray for, to whatever higher power exists for each one of us. Maybe be faith in the essential goodness of people is well deserved. I hope so. Better than the pessimistic view taken by others. Hopefully there is something working for our good anyway.

The past thousand years has shown us that mankind can run the gamut from the very depths to the acme of perfection, and points in between. What will politics accomplish ? Our Pastors, parents, teachers and social workers, can and will they be a help or a dragging hinderance ? Will we be able to work in a semblance of harmony toward a lofty goal ? Or will it be round after round of fighting and backbiting ?

I wish that there could be more that I can do than just worry and hopefully try talk young ones into using common sense and discretionary good judgement.

The calendar will show us little by little how we doing -- hopefully the headlines will be about good happenings -- but sense of the past articles in the media tells me that train wrecks sell more papers and advertisers products than any good news can accomplish. My hopes are high as are my doubts. What shall it be, Leap Or Fall ? ? ? ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008