Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-01-02 - 00:27:00

December 2, 2001

'Tis The Night

In this place the hard task of building blivits occurs. Each year, each one is the same only bigger. I do not hire out for this work, it is too exhausting and soul wrenching -- this blivit construction.

I will admit that I do have expert assistance, two aces. Heather and daughter, both have long experience and the make up of natural born shoppers. I just can't seem to understand how a grandmother who has been through the gruels of the duels of shopping can believe that something here is more of a bargain than it can be in our home town.

Day by day drifts of goods pile up in corners, and at my urgent plea some begin to disappear in the available luggage, later on it begins to fill some of daughter's spare luggage, until we have as much as the airline will allow. I'm sure glad that they don't do the old "weight and balance" thing that they did when I first started flying. I remember paying a hellacious fee for overweight baggage. Guess the jets nowadays have the power to handle most any weight.

This time Heather told me this morning that every thing was packed and we were all set to go. "But," she said, "There just isn't room for your clothes." Then came the cramming, jamming of blilvit production. Using chain hoists and come-alongs to zip the bags up, locking them quickly so they won't burst open, and quickly cinching up the luggage straps around them to restrain them.

If you should see an item in the news about a jet spewing clothes and novelties for many miles, you will know that one of our bags burst open. More than that -- it would be big news.

Bags zipped up and locked, 'Tis The Night . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008