Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-01-09 - 19:05 MST

January 9, 2001

Webster's

How often when I read the paper or listen to someone on the tv do I puzzle over what is really meant. Sometimes I will go to the good book, look up one of the words said and see that there are maybe five different definitions and can find no definition carrying a meaning that had any connection to what was being said or written.

Things will be stated without facts and statistics to back up what is being said.

Some of these B.S. words and phrases, "He is vertically challenged," "He is weight challenged," "He is mentally challenged," are just a few, no one would dare insult a "Vertically challenged" by calling him short, or causing the "Weight challenged," hurt by calling him fat, or heaven forbid, we dare not ever call a politician, or a pillar of the church stupid . . . . . oh, no, he is "Mentally challenged."

I park in a "Handicapped" parking area and hang my "Handicapped" card from my rear vision mirror - - - - that is what all that jazz is about - - - hell I'm not handicapped -- that is what they do with horses and golfers -- I'm crippled damnit -- I don't like it but I am, and don't mind saying so. Oh, don't dare challenge some one who zips into a "Handicapped" space, has no card or "Handicapped" license plate and starts to run to the store. They don't even break stride, "I'll just be a minute." yeah right, even if that is the only "Handicapped" spot open they could care less if some one crippled has to struggle up from the north 40 to the store dragging their little oxygen bottle and leaning on their cane until they can sit a minute before going on in -- or if they drop dead. Yeah, "I'll just be a minute," riiight

The media, most supervision of the higher ups and politicians, use words that the general public hears one way but the powers that be use to mean something diametrically opposite, or off the wall.

Maybe I am different than other folks, but I need to know and have long acquaintanceship with the person I am talking to so that I can pretty well tell what he means by what he is saying. Not that he always uses correct terms, but by knowing him I know what he is saying. Even then sometimes, I will ask something like, "That's strange, where did you hear that ?" or "Where can I find the statistics to back that up ? Not that I am trying to start an argument, just trying to see if he understands what he is saying to me.

So many, many words with 4, 5,or 6 definitions in the dictionary which can be used to confuse or obfuscate an issue.

So, yeah, wait a minute while I go look it up in Webster's . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008