Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-01-19 - 16:19 MST

January 19, 2001

Oxymoron

Bi-partisan -- sheesh, that is one to top all of the Oxy's. To my dim sight and perception I seem to be like Diogenes twin with a lamp out looking for common sense in any function. Whichever way I look it seems impossible to find an impartial anything.

Special Interest groups are trying every way they can to obtain what they want in spite of maybe working to the detriment of others if their goal is achieved.

MONEY seems in the end to determine how things go. Due to the fact that they pay for the advertising in the media it seems to be a given that BIG MONEY will cause the news to be muffled, slanted or ignored completely.

I am not deeply acquainted with history but in the history of our country it seems that any time the militia, national guard and or police have been called in it was because some group of "Poor rascals are asking for what is due them," is raising more of a stink than the big boys will allow to show them up.

It is everywhere, dissension, hubris to the max what ever the term might be.

I wonder how many of these people, these groups, these associations ever ponder on what the total effect on the country will be if they get what they are pushing for ?

I am on a small pension and Social Security. If it were possible from the time I started working to make pensions ("portable") following a person, vested is what I think they call it, my income would put me into the upper brackets on the income scale. I might even be able to turn down accepting Social Security monthly checks. I have read though, that there are many people who are very rich and yet draw their Social Security today. Does that help anyone ? Does that help the rich recipients ?

As a part owner of a flower shop some years ago I would read mail from anti-labor organizations who would use catch phrases and B.S. propaganda to try to enlist any owner of a business into their special interest group. Pah !

The fights of various laboring groups for a living wage, decent and safe working conditions along with a reasonable feeling that they will not be discriminated against, has been going on for many more years than I have been living. The present day ploy seems to be for some of the biggies to sell themselves piecemeal, to divest, break up into smaller groups to possibly increase their profits, but unnoticed is the fact that the unions are becoming weaker and weaker as time goes on.

I am wondering now, who will be the targets for the CIA and what country are they going to put down the tubes -- for whose benefit ?

The misuse, disuse and abuse of all that once were held to be the main tenets of our society seems to be accelerating in a logarithmic manner nowadays.

I ran into an old poem, remembered of my childhood which seems to fit into today's world as more or less reality:

"It was midnight on the ocean, not a streetcar was in sight.

The sun was shining brightly and it rained all day that night.

- - - - "Twas a summer day in winter, and the snowflakes fell like glass.

The barefoot boy wiith shoes on stood sitting in the grass.

While the organ peeled potatoes, it was echoed by the choir.

As the sexton rang the dishrag, someone set the church on fire.

"Holy Smokes" the preacher cried, in the rain he lost his hair.

Now his head resembles heaven, for there is no parting there. ------------------------------------------

Oxymoron, oxymoron, rah, rah. Obfuscation confused by euphemisms compounded by double speak and a disintegrated dictionary. Our class came in first, but we don't know in which competition ! ! ! ! ! ! Yeah, Oxymoron . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008