Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 07, 2005 - 19:48 MST

OF LIFE

Maybe it is just me, or maybe I just feel it more when the weather is nudging zero and the snow crisply crunches when I walk on it. When the skies are cloudy and the rooms are dim, hibernation seems to be the answer, but not practical.

Heather and I are pretty rested u now, I had a bunch of paperwork to take care of and Heather headed out to K-Mart and Wal-Mart and other places of import -- malls and all and would be gone a bunch of time. So I went about my work, but began to worry a bit when four o'clock came round, as she usually tries to get home before then, but then thought - - Christmas is near so she was probably trying to catch it all up before the last few days before Christmas.

The phone began to ring and finally I remembered she wasn't home. I went to pick it up and caller ID said "Saint Joseph Hospital." Maybe its because of my age, but a call from the hospital when no one we know is there sets off all the alarms this human can have sounding at once.

I picked it up, prepared for the worst and Heather's voice came at me, "Doug, its me, Heather. I got sick at K-Mart and they took me to the hospital." Before I could ask a million dithering questions, she said, "They've checked me out and are letting me come home." I asked, "You are not in a room then ?" She said, "No I'm in the emergency section, come get me after you get the car at K-Mart."

I was lucky enough to get hold of our daughter who lives nearby. Her hubby came over and took me to hospital, he and I deciding that we should do that and worry about the car later. I wormed my way to the door of the emergency section and the guard verified that I could enter and told me what room she was in. They hadn't finished their routine and Heather had to wait 'til they unhooked her from the IV and did her vitals once again before they told her she could get dressed and go. Thereupon she dressed and we stopped by the desk to pay up. By then our son-in-law had managed to get in and accompanied us to the door.

The snow was still crunchy when we got there and he said, "You two wait by the door and I'll pull the car up and help get Heather in."

Then across town to K-Mart to pick up the car. While I was starting the car son-in-law helped Heather in and he headed home as did we.

Tomorrow morning Heather will get an appointment with her doctor, and maybe then she will know what ailed her. From what little I heard her symptoms were weird. But when that lady is sick enough to ask for help like she did, there is something definitely wrong with her.

Even though she was sick and went to hospital, having her home and feeling a bit better, warm and cosy and watching TV is to me a thankful celebration OF LIFE . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008