Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 03, 2006 - 18:58 MST

FOAMING AT THE MOUTH

Could be that the title of this bit o' blather might be, "Much Ado About Nothing," however boycotts and threats from the Muslim World are truly "Too Much Ado About Nothing," in my eyes. Hereby quoting the (buried at the bottom of the editorial section) item in today's Rocky Mountain News -- in full:

THE PROPHET MOTIVE

"Just when we had reason to feel good about Europe again, a French publisher has gone and reinforced the worst stereotype of continental pandering to Muslim bullies."

"The initial gesture was magnificent. Newspapers in France, Gemany. Italy, Spain and elsewhere rushed this week to the defense of beleagured Denmark, which is the target of economic boycotts and threats from Muslims around the world for defending the right of a Danish paper to publish caricatures of the prophet Muhammad."

"In their show of solidarity, the other European newspapers printed some of the same depictions of Muhammad, with France Soir declaring, "Yes one has the right to caricature God."

"But not for long. According to CNN International, France Soir's publisher quickly wilted and sacked his editorial director, while issuing a limp statement proclaiming respect for "intimate convictions."

"No word yet on why those convictions don't include a belief in freedom of expression."

++++++++++++++++++++++

Seems to me that there is a type of group that spends their spare time trying to find something to be insulted about. In this case, aren't a good part of them the ones who call the United States "The Great Satan"? Also don't most of them feel that Israel should be wiped out totally ?

I have seen caricatures of the diety I believe in, also Moses, St. Peter et al. Some of them have amused me, none have offended me. Just thinking about the e-mailed joke about God and Moses and the technicalities of e-mail, and chuckling a bit.

The media here made quite a big bit of blather about Christmas being under attack, and there are groups of people who are saying the state of marriage is under attack. Like Bill Johnson in the Rocky Mountain News this morning said in an article of his, -- quoting, "Straight people, more than any other group -- truth be told -- are killing the institution just fine by themselves," his article backs up his premise with facts and figures about divorce rates and also noting that apparently the divorce rate is higher in some of the Bible Belt states than in any of the others. But the haters are having at it, faith based and all.

A bit earlier in his column he says, quote -- "I just do not see how allowing a gay couple to enter into the same bond I have with my wife endangers my marriage or yours." He also made the observation that many gay people have been married longer than some of the haters have been alive. Or words to that effect. I can truthfully say that I have known a few gay folks who have lived up to marriage vows better than the cheater-repeaters of heterosexual partnerships.

In a way maybe, folks that choose to get enraged over things become caricatures of human beings all on their very own.

I do hate to see a man cry, but, you know, Jesus wept.

To me it is very objectionable to see these groups mindlessly FOAMING AT THE MOUTH . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008