Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 13, 2006 - 23:13 MST

THE FINEST

I guess that I get a bit starry eyed when it comes to the Olympics. The idea and idealism of the concept if nothing else is super contagious.

Due to being somewhat deaf and along with that impatient with the things in between the real action, when I do sit down to watch some of the events it is with the breathless anticipation of a boy's first time at the circus. It is all amazing and completely exhilarating to me.

Ice skating and diving are the two main things I eagerly watch. One in the summer and one in the winter. The utter grace and beauty of the programs stand out in my mind as being the best the Olympics has to offer. Those events are "my bag" as teenagers once said. However in the midst I do manage to watch a bit of the competition in other things. Saw a bit of the Half-Pipe snow boarding tonight, amazing that. Such body control, coordination and timing.

Tonight I saw the U.S.A. speed skater, think his name is Cheeky from North Carolina take first in that event.

It is easy to come up with national pride in folks taking part in the Olympics, yet the competitors must be admired for their achievements in their chosen sport.

With sadness I heard of Michelle Kwan withdrawing from competition, sadness but understanding.

Tonight it was the free style pairs I think. Thrilling to the max for this guy. Each pair are champions, each pair brings something unique to the ice. I think that nowhere in the world can anyone see anything better in the realm of skating than in the Olympics.

Every time there is quibbling, arguing and such as that, but the determination, skill, artistry of the performing couples top and override all the small minded tussling behind the scenes.

Some years ago, our fiftieth wedding anniversary Med Cruise I had the good fortune to walk through the site where the first Olympic Games were held. Sure, off to the side of the grounds was this souvenir shop, but it didn't intrude on the hallowed site of good sportsmanship epitomized by the Games.

I don't the torch was as fancy, or the hoopla as big back then, but I think the spirit of the games burned as bright then as it does now.

To my mind there is nowhere in the world that a person can see the best persons, pairs, teams all in one week than the Olympics. May they survive forever, the place where gather THE FINEST . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008