Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 26, 2006 - 22:29 MST

DOWN THE ROAD

Six to ten PM tonight we watched the closing ceremonies of the Olympics. Did mute the commercials though, we had seen them all ad infinitum. This was the first time I ever saw the closing ceremonies of the Games. Always was working nights when they happened before.

What a magnificent spectacle they were.

A huge stadium crammed full of people in the mood of being happy and friendly. That in itself is a spectacle. Wish some of the soccer game fans would follow that example.

The entertainment was something special too. A bit of everything, including a bit of juggling. The airborne folks floating high above the stage was a thing I had never seen before and enjoyed to the max. Made me wish I could do that. Hang gliding was always something I yearned to do, as well as parachute jumping.

During the program, clips of previous performances were shown again which were a bonus to me.

We were able to watch the final of the cross country skiing (50 kilometers -- about 30 miles I think) and they were still going as if there was fire under their tails. Such astounding energy. And those medals for that race were awarded during the closing ceremonies.

Traditional rites were performed with great aplomb and dignity, made my heart surge, it did.

The flame of the torch was extinguished, but the music and the party continued with happy people participating to the max. Way it should be to my way of thinking.

I expect Heather and I will be able to watch the next Summer Olympics - - - - statistically though it is doubtful if I'll be around to see the next Winter Olympics. But I saw all I could this time around.

The amazingly wonderful thing was an entire stadium full of people who had been in hot competition for about two weeks were gathered there in peace, no discord, smiling faces. Would that the rest of the world could live up to that mode of behavior.

The Olympic ideal shall remain tightly clasped in my heart and soul and maybe I can see the next Winter Olympics DOWN THE ROAD

. . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008