Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 21, 2006 - 19:34 MST

OLD, OLD LESSONS

I guess even before written language the teachings of some very intelligent folks were along the same lines. Then through the ages many wise men have said and written essentially the same thing, only in slightly different words but with the same general meaning.

This morning I saw a quote in the "Thought for Today" section of our paper. It was in Spanish I think but the English translation was as follows:

"Among individuals, as among nations, peace is the respect of others rights." said by Benito Juarez, Mexican statesman (1806 - 1872)"

I keep thinking of how things are in our world today, here in our country, even. So many different groups, sects, clans, organizations all bent on making others think and feel as they do, and if not that forcing others to live as they insist is the only right way.The "right way" entails total disrespect for the thoughts, feelings and ways of other people.

My Father's and Mother's way of looking at things was that other folks might think, feel and worship in their own ways and as long as what they did and felt did not harm us in any way - - - - FINE. They felt it would be an intrusion on others liberty to try to make them "do as we do."

Many great men and women have preached, and tried to get the point across to us and many are the ways the thoughts have been twisted in an attempt to exclude folks with different ways and outlooks, and sometimes put folks to death because they were a bit different. To what avail ? Has that way of living, thinking and operating made this a better world ?

Are we as a human race ever going to grow up, all of us ?

Am I any better than the next guy ? Hell no - - - - - - but I do wish folks would ease off and live and let live. Might even work if we took to heart those OLD, OLD LESSONS? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008