Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-04 - 981370694

February 4, 2001

Goodies

It is rather disgusting to me the twisted way things are going now. This thing about taxes going for religious purposes really worries me. Of course in this Common Era (which counts years from the birth of Christ) in the effort to be politically correct and not hurt anyone rather than to start numbering year from todays date and say This Is The Year One in the New Era. Maybe church ought to cozy up to state with the longed for control of government eventually going to the highest in the hierarchy. Oh yeah, but of what church ?

What has happened to the fought for separation of church and state ? Wasn't there a reason that our country was set up to keep separate church and state ? I'm not a history expert but it seems to me that much of the trouble of the then called civilized world was caused by church having too much say in how the government was being run with even the monarchies being ruled by the heads of churches.

Now we have school vouchers beating us over the head. Our public school system was instituted by using tax money and is a system to provide education to us peons in the masses who might not have any dough but feel that our child or children have a right to have education. The feeling among most people is I think that education is one of the few things that help further mankind.

I hear over and over that the public school system is no good, or going downhill. If the public school system is in disrepair, fix it dammit ! What point is there in continuing to have public schools if the money to support them is diverted to parochial schools and/or private schools ? I think maybe that is one thing that is being aimed for, a society where part is taught a set religious curriculum and part go to hoity toity private schools.

I dunno from where I stand it looks to me as if it should stay as it always has been tax money goes for public schools and for those who want their children to have a religious education should come up with the money to send their kids to church school as well as pay taxes for public schools.

The asinine idea of vouchers to be spent on private schooling really makes me have the urge to barf big, big, big. Tax money to finance the rich mans idea of education ? Ha, that is why even in public schools the rich neighborhoods have one hell of a lot better everything, money talks-justice walks.

So, I can envision those young people who want their Social Security money now so that they can invest it ? Sheesh ! I feel that the gambling streak in humans will have those investors stone broke later in life and looking for relief from the damn fools who let them have the money to invest. I think that there are a few (a damn few) people who could invest money and break even and a fewer yet who could make money by investing.

I seriously wonder where our country is really headed behind the smoke screen when a bigot has control of Justice. at least a bigot in my estimation and opinion. In older times would he have been one of those who wore the pointy white hoods and white jellabas ?

In the mad scramble to grab the advantages, it may be the taxes disappear in the gravel and dust and nobody really gets the Goodies . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008