Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 29, 2006 - 21:17 MST

SIGNS OF THE TIMES

As a hopeless ignoramus on things vegetable and botanic I had a nice adventure riding up to Greeley, Colorado with Heather to visit with our daughter up there.

I saw various plots of ground that had been tilled. Some were "rough cut" with clods and things, others seemed almost as if raked by hand. Farmers getting ready to do what they do every year, in ways known only to them and the agriculturists. It was quite interesting to see fields that had been just stubble not too long ago being in various stages of planting preparation.

Some fields I saw tractors pulling equipment preparing fields.

Just thinking about the small farmer, the family farmer. He and his must be the biggest gamblers in the world who risk the most, every year, with the possiblity of being ruined by weather of one kind or another, not to mention the vagaries of other kinds including money he receives for his crop at sale time.

But it was obvious as we went today, there will be growing things in our country here and I expect in other states too. Further south I expect growth is much further along, but it will happen here too.

It was a fairly long ride up there today, I watched the clouds begin to puff like warm weather clouds do, but noticed a swarm of dark cloudy weather drifting east off the Continental Divide and head toward the flatlands. Hope that rain will happen to move plants on their way to being something good.

I have no idea of what those few fields I saw were planted with, but they were greened over richly already with their heads up.

I read about Spring on the way, see things in the paper too, but really our land shows quite adequately SIGNS OF THE TIMES . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008