Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 03, 2006 - 17:26 MDT

ANNEXATION

In the newspapers, on TV we see vast crowds of people demonstrating, waving a flag. In itself that isn't so bad really. But the thing is, they are parading and demonstrating in the streets of the United States of America and the flag they are waving is the Mexican flag.

Makes me wonder a bit, what the heck point are they trying to make ? Do they wish to become U.S. citizens ? Do they think waving the Mexican flag is going to sway many of us into thinking on their side ?

As I have said before, I think, we are in a mess that started long before I was born. A good part of Brighton and the surrounding county's population is Hispanic. Agricultural workers, many of them migrant workers who lived in slop, ate slop and tried to raise children in slop, living in fear of INS because they were illegal. The beet fields and the sugar company were responsible, one way or another, for the inflow of people from south of our border.

I think that the biggest and most intelligent brains in our country had better get on the stick and come up with a sensible solution covering the people who are already here and how to control our borders.

I see no way that people who come here looking for work, work hard and send money home can be held to blame, our borders have been sieves from time immemorial all because the labor was cheap and mistreatment was the norm. I have seen some of the places migrant workers have been cooped up into. Almost intolerable living conditions, unsanitary to the max -- all because the Anglo who owned the place chose to do things that way and felt that his workers wouldn't dare complain. That is just in my span of life.

Of course it might be wise for the inflow to bar outgoing people and work in order to have a little left for them to do while here. I guess the factories that our country corporations sent south to Mexico aren't paying enough to keep people in their home country. Amazing, isn't it ?

But undocumented (Politically Correct) folks don't have much of a chance elisting me in their cause by waving the Mexican flag in my face . . . . . what are they after ANNEXATION ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008