Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 05, 2006 - 17:47 MST

BEREFT BASTION

Suddenly, while drinking morning coffee my internet connection disappeared. I tried the usual and unplugged the QWEST black box that gives me DSL, waited a few minutes and plugged it back in which has in the past restored service. Didn't work.

Had to go run errands and on my return I tried to get the ISP on the phone, no luck phone number no longer in service. I then left a message on a person's answering machine who has the same ISP that I do asking if they were having troubles. She works during the day.

Grim Street - - - Until I got a phone call from her Mom who lives in Florida . . . . . . didn't find out how she knew, perhaps she can field her daughters messages. Anyhow she gave me another phone number to try. Which I did, and after talking to the tech, and not pressing to find out why, but asking him to check and see if I could get my service back, it was immediately restored. Voila ! Then supper intervened and now I am back in the World of Keyboard and Monitor, happily.

Good news in a small package, mid-paper of the Rocky Mountain News this morning in the National Briefing section. A small item from the District of Columbia, herewith quoted in full:

5 DRUG FIRMS GIVEN $1 BILLION FOR FLU VACCINE

WASHINGTON -- "The government on Thursday awarded more than $1 billion to five drug manufacturers that are developing technology for speedier mass production of vaccines in case of a pandemic."

"The companies are, GlaxoSmith-Kline; MedImmune Inc.; Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics; DynPort Vaccine Co.; and Solvay Pharmaceuticals Inc."

+++++

There is hope after all that there are some in government who think in the right direction. I do hope the money is speedily advanced and put to the best use it can be.

Figures to about $200 million per company (if my warped math has it right), which should help immensely.

I don't expect miracles, but think this might qualify.

So, now I shall surely enjoy treading the world of the internet and value it more as time goes on. No longer am I BEREFT BASTION . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008