Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-08 - 18:57 MST

February 8, 2001

Laws

Laws, ordinances etc. do they have any meaning or bearing on life as it moves through each day ?

Recently there has been much uproar about freedom of speech, the ones who are uproaring are often the people who want to picket a house or a neighborhood or pick at and grab at a woman trying to enter a planned parenthood clinic -- whatever she is going in there for.

Doggone it, what about cities ordinances dealing with "Disturbing The Peace ?" I support absolutely the Freedom of Speech -- but there is, to my mind, a big difference between freedom of speech and harassment, disturbing the peace and trying to force opinions on someone else.

Like I have said before, we have always had enough laws, etc. on the books from the time I was a kid and centuries before. No law or ordinance is worth a damn when some lazy, lack-a-daisical nincompoop is ignoring or mis-applying the rules we do have.

No gem of speech from our state house today, but I did see a neat cartoon by Etta Hulme. There is a wedding in progress, a huge man standing with an open book in his hands. Before him stands Ashcroft in a tux and bow tie and his prospective bride, Justice holding up her scales and blindfolded as usual. Behind her is a goon in a tux and bow tie - the flower in his lapel has a big W on it and he is holding a shotgun to Justice's back. Well I liked it anyway and laughed my (well I don't have anything to sit on tonight)

Ashleigh Brilliant in his one panel cartoon today says, "No matter how bad things get, I can always escape - - - - into my depression." Dunno - no escape there for me, Bush is in and I was depressed enough already before the, ha - ha election.

I guess I have the title for being lazy, I do like it so much when people put in the link to their site when they post. I counted up today and I have about two hundred sites bookmarked amongst seven folders. Somehow I just can't find enough time to go through that number of bookmarks, looking to see who has posted. AND this old memory just has an awful time to remember those who post an entry every single day, at a set time. I'm like the nine year old boy at a grown up party trying to look and hear in all directions for fear of missing something. I don't want to miss anything either. I know, I know, I don't always get my link to the entry on my posting - - - but shortly thereafter I do send out my linking. I do post every day, sometimes probably my posting is delayed in transit. But, sometime in the twenty four hour period of that day I do make an entry. So even though I do post every day -- who the hell knows when it will be ? Sometimes I will make an entry at four PM and still be editing at Ten PM. It is nice to have a link to click on.

I searched the news today looking for the impossible, Good news, if it was there it was such a small thing I missed it. It is often so, people need time to run home and grab a spoon to scoop up the gore.

Here tonight it is the same o, same o,

My nose is a hose,

It swells and drivels,

Kleenex applied and the nose glows,

And my patience shrivels,

What is on tomorrow ? I'll see how it goes,

The Pneumonia vane swivels,

How it will point, no one knows.

Need a bit of luck on this one, I've served the respiratory penance twice over this winter already.

Diaryland is being revamped and it looks for the better, and, you know what ? It operates under its own Laws . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008