Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-10 - 19:08 MST

February 10, 2001

Learning

I have learned how to say goodbye to someone, without begging them to stay, wishing them well and letting them know they will be welcome back anytime.

I have learned over and over again the treasure that relatives are.

I have learned that there is practically no suffering so bad that it can't be borne.

I have learned that that there are as many different viewpoints as there are people -- more, people do change their minds frequently, as do I.

I have learned that equanimity is a word which begins to have meaning to me -- it is I guess, a descendant from my, "laid back," philosophy that I try for and achieve once in a while. To maintain stablity in rough seas requires maybe the gyroscope of seeing things relative to their real importance in the "big picture," and by using impartial common sense to realize that a "chinese fire drill," accomplishes nothing.

I have learned to accept my faith as my own, without the necessity of excusing it or explaining it to anyone. After many years I realized that my faith has always been there but obscured by many things beyond my control which I let confuse this wretch.

I have learned that there are a great many young people who are anxious to be of service like opening doors, picking up something dropped, lifting some heavy thing for me.

I have learned that these people had some very loving and good parents who taught by example how a person should be in their relations with the world.

I am humbly beginning to learn that I do have a reasonably good mind and set of values, which is a remarkable revelation to me.

I have learned to not only smell the roses as I pass, but to see and love their beauty too.

Control of my temper and irritable nature is something I am working on, even in heavy rush hour traffic . . . . I am still Learning . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008