Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 05, 2006 - 21:13 MDT

SWINGS AND GLIDERS

Seems to be edging into summer, perhaps the hot part a bit early, but nevertheless, summer. With trees and shrubs leafed out and shady lanes down the city streets Heather and I took somewhat of a holiday today.

We did a bit of shopping at COSTCO to get the staples that abound there and then ? Then we just took a little ride out west of Wheatridge on an avenue that we hadn't explored that far west. Ran into all sorts of twists and turns and saw nice houses and yards, nothing nobby just plain comfortable homes with nicely kept yards. Not a long ride, just a pleasant way to spend an hour or so, exploring the turf where we live.

Thence home and unload the stuff from COSTCO, put it away.

Then came the groovy part. We closed up the house, except for one vent window and for the first time this summer started up the swamp cooler. It was in the low nineties and Heather was feeling good enough that rather than having chills as she did the last few days, actually felt discomfort from high temps today.

I was in and out doing little things and feeling the comfort of a cool house when I came back in.

Then as it cooled down a bit I snuck out back and inhabited our swing. It is a nice one with a cover on top and a comfy padded seat and back. I took delight doing as I once did as a kid. Laid out in a comfortable position and from time to time would push the swing back with my arm and let it go. That has always been comforting to me, guess that is why I enjoyed our cruise, the motion of the ocean and all.

I drifted away on a cloud of daydreams, finally forgetting to push the swing and drifting off to a short nap. Dreams of past kiddish summers took over my soul and I drifted away into the land of Ago.

Funny, how much that swing means to Heather and I. As kids we both had access to those gliders on people's front porches, and the occasional swing, hung by chains from the overhead as well. We had served our time of happy enjoyment in those vehicles of comfort and still enjoy swinging together out there in the swing we bought in a supermarket at a marked down price.

Comes to mind those playground swings of yore, seeing how high I could go, how far I could jump from one. And those sets of rings, guess they existed most everywhere, I never counted the rings, they were in a circle, hung from steel framework. Going hand over hand, from one ring to the next for as long as I had energy to do so was a fun thing for me. I guess that, kidlike, if someone told me I had to do that -- the decision that it was too much work would have come out of my skull. But on my own hook, it was great fun. Seeing how fast I could go round was a thrill for me.

In a way perhaps I have come full circle, swinging again, gently my thoughts floating on the stream of time as they will.

It has been a good day and one I feel was well earned. A blast it was going back to the age of SWINGS AND GLIDERS . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008