Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 09, 2006 - 20:06 MDT

ZERO DEFECTS ?

Whenever progress is made in a field, some people figure out how to spoil things for us all. Vincent Carroll, editor of the editorial pages of the Rocky Mountain News says in his "On Point" section today that demonstrates that very thing. Quoted here in full:

DESIGNING PERFECTION

"As you read the following item, feel free to quietly chant, "There is no slippery slope, there is no slippery slope," by way of reassurance."

"In Britain, according to London's Sunday Times, "More that 20 babies have been aborted in advanced pregnancy because scans showed that they had club feet, a deformity readily corrected by surgery or physiotherapy . . . . . a further four babies were aborted because they had webbed fingers or extra digits, which are also corrected by simple surgery. All the terminations took place late in pregnancy, after 20 weeks."

"As the Times observes, the many notable people born with a clubfoot include Lord Byron, Dudley Moore and believe it or not, the gold medal skater Kristi Yamaguchi. But in an age in which we seem tempted to embrace the idea of designer babies, even a treatable imperfection is now too much for some impatient parents."

++++++

Apparently the known quantity of such things is yet small, but seems to be a demonstration of the evils of abortion. It also makes me wonder how many more will take place ?

I guess being a man, I have no right to sound off as, after all it is a woman carrying the child who has the say about such things. Yet the thought that my wife would consider aborting her pregnancy because her fetus had an abnormality that was not life threatening is abominable to my mind. We are a bit old to face pregnancy, but the thought that one of our granddaughters would even consider such action is frightening.

Considering the fact that no one of us is perfect in body and or soul I cannot see where any sane person would even consider such an action. But perhaps I am just an "old school" fuddy-duddy and not up to par on what it is to be human.

As far as I am concerned due to my upbringing there was only one perfect person, and humanity killed him. The term "designer babies" makes me shiver to think that our inhabitants of this earth would go for ensuring that all our babies will be born with ZERO DEFECTS . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008