Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 18, 2006 - 22:13 MDT

THIS TIME

Big day at Bastion Castle. Up early, showered, shaved my neck, fought my hair (what little is left of it), dug out my luau clothes and then ate breakfast.

Heather went off to her church and I tried to read a bit of the paper. That bit was the funnies, all I had time for.

Middle daughter and her mate came by with a Father's Day cake and presents along with a beautiful and touching card.

A goodly amount of time was spent opening presents, drinking coffee, eating cake and schmoozing. I didn't strike the mother lode, but did make out like a burglar in a small way.

About the time daughter decided it was time to go, off came my shorts, luau shirt and on with fancy duds. Son came over and we took off for a nephew's wedding up on Look Out Mountain at the Crystal Rose. Nephew and his mate had a beautiful ceremony out of doors in a spot overlooking the eastern prairie with downtown Denver in the distance. The cloudscape was summery gorgeous. About the time the wedding ceremony was over a cloud had drifted in from the west and threatened to do something, as we were going back inside it did rain, but nobody got drenched. From the big window a great rainbow shone in the east. What a nice thing for a wedding.

We were surrounded by a lot of family we don't often see, folks we love and enjoy being around. Life is like that I guess, but oh, do we enjoy being with them when the opportunity arises.

We left late in the afternoon, before dusk nipped us. Took some pictures of the two mesas that are just east of Golden from the road down off the mountain. We found a nice place to pull off and take pictures.

Geography in this area goes like this. The mountains with the Front Range just east of them, then come the foothills, then Golden with North and South Table Mountain just east of town then the flatlands start and comes Denver.

If you have ever had or seen a bottle of Coors beer, the big rock you see on the label is just back of the brewery on South Table Mountain.

We got home and son came in and visited for a time.

It has been a very full day, one of great pleasure for Heather and I as well.

Somehow it seems that it was a busier day than when I used to work for a living. And this old man is tired/happy, content to the max. Like in the Miller ad "Things don't get any better'n this," This entry being done, reading the rest of the Sunday paper put off 'til tomorrow, guess that's all THIS TIME . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008