Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-13 - 23:45 MST

February 13, 2001

Second Verse

We had company late morning to mid afternoon, which we enjoyed very much. Later we went to Fazzoli's and had supper. On the way home we stopped at King Supers and bought some neccessarys as Heather commented that TV said we would have snow. As, of course, opposed to the forecast published in our morning paper.

Cut to the underground parking and Bastion unwittingly stepping on a slick spot. By an uncanny mode of motion he didn't hit the floor. Worse yet, his back is cringing and twingeing something fierce tonight.

A short time ago Heather invited me come look outside through the patio window. In the short time we had been home the scenery had gained another overcoat of white. Surprised, me surprised ? The one who always expects the unexpected ? Sure I was surprised, wasn't I supposed to be ? As expected, when the Denver weather does the unexpected we do the bit the Russians did under a dictatorship. Quietly a Russian fielded a query from a visiting Westerner, "How can you handle such conditions ?" The Russian replied, "Simple, they pretend to pay us - - - - and we pretend to work." So I read and pretend to believe the weather forecasts and also pretend to be surprised that the "possible snow showers" scheduled for tomorrow showed up ahead of time with a heavier load than expected. Yunno, what's new ? Nuthin'.

About half hour ago I took a hoarded, bootleg pain killer, and also a hoarded muscle relaxant and a melatonin. In maybe ten minutes I will get super sleepy, fall into bed and let the high falutin' meds do what they are supposed to accomplish.

I'm not such a smart guy, but did have sense enough to hoard heavy stuff for the emergencies that I knew would sooner or later arise.

I just hope the meds hold out until I get enough sense to watch out for slick, or ball bearing, gravelly surfaces.

Same song, Second Verse . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008