Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 12, 2006 - 21:23 MDT

MAKES A GUY WONDER

The mileposts whiz by, faster and faster, that's life for us all as we age.

Births, Graduations, Weddings, Birthdays and Anniversaries are all remembered and treasured.

The mileposts that are disheartening, though they shouldn't be, is mileposts that mark deaths.

By the time we reach a bit of understanding of life, we realize that we are each and everyone of us "terminal" from the moment of our conception. That is the process we call life, and it is the most glorious of things imagined.

However we dodge the bullet, deep down we realize that some day death will come to us. Each time we attend a funeral or memorial service, the evidence of the fragility of life is an onus once again on our back.

But that is the way things go and we cope, don't we ?

Tomorrow Heather and I shall attend another funeral, this time it is for the wife of one of her cousins. She was younger than us but had been in ill health for a long time.

We shall see and visit with family from out of town that we seldom see, sad that we have to meet on this occasion rather than a reunion.

So, time marches on, as we often hear. Some times the steps are muffled in sorrow, yet it still marches.

Seems as if the last year or two those signs of death begin to resemble a picket fence as we whiz by in our limo of life.

We don't keep a diary or log of things like this, but it seems to me that we have said a final goodbye to at least three of our friends or relatives since my birthday in April of this year.

Just seems the fate hurries us along, goading us now and then to speed things up.

Am I afraid to die ? No not really. However I do fear that agonizing pain that some sufferers go through on their way out.

But it does hurt to see loved ones leave us. Hopefully we will meet them again on the other side where there is peace and tranquility -- pain free.

If someone could tell me the date and hour that my death is to be, would I ask for that information ? I don't think so, it is not my business to know. When and how will it be ? MAKES A GUY WONDER . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008