Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 28, 2006 - 00:54 MDT

RIGHTLY SO

Another court defends the people. Another "item" hid in National briefing of the Rocky Mountain News Thursday and quoted in full:

COURT DENIES DEVELOPER EMINENT DOMAIN RIGHT

COLUMBUS -- The Ohio Supreme Court ruled unanimously on Wednesday that economic development ISN'T a sufficient reason under the state constitution to justify taking homes, putting a half to a $125 million project of offices, shops and restaurants in a Cincinnati suburb that officials said would create jobs and add tax revenue."

+++++++++++

Seems to me that all our states and cities as well as federal government should recognize the sanctity of personal property ownership. The old saw, "A man's home is his castle," should, I think, include the land it stands on. The lure of money and added taxes coming in from a development keeps this pot eternally boiling. However, if developers were forced to pay the owners a fair percentage of the profits they seem to think will result over the development and the governmental entity pay a fair percentage of the taxes they assume will result. Perhaps that way the little man would get a fair shake all the way around. And to my mind it would be RIGHTLY SO . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008