Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-02-21 - 08:58:25

HEARTSTRINGS

Sunday I circled in a holding pattern while my mind did it's thing.

And reading in Maya Angelou's poetry another chord was plucked in me, reading her, "They Went Home."

And on meditating it came to me that many similarities occur in life - - - where, "They Went Home" is a heart rending experience.

So

It Spins Awhile

I've a mind like a top,

Caroming from thought to thought,

Whirling without a stop,

Sometimes.....pauses where it ought.

Sometimes, off on a tangent,

So much astray,

It's hard to know what it meant,

Bringing me here today.

But from the earliest of my times,

(Being an only child,)

At the sound of the evening chimes,

My friends homeward filed.

Each year of my life,

At times I did not choose,

Sounded the drum and fife,

Marching off they'd go -------

And I did lose,

Lonelieness cut me--------

As a knife.

Her poem bemoaned lost lovers,

But it is oh, so very true,

It appears when a parting hovers,

Paused in the blue.

At last we must say---------

goodbye to friends and kin,

And lower them where they must lie,

Held in our hearts they thrive within.

THEY WENT HOME,

But I must bide here till I die.

Morbid ? maybe. But it talks about things as they are.

Press on old man, smile, it could be worse. I won't smile for fear it could.

Echoing HEARTSTRINGS

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008