Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-27 - 21:17 MST

February 27, 2001

Legs

Although we had bikes, most of us or could borrow one the bulk of our movements were by walking.

I did not have the wind to be able to run very long, but I enjoyed walking as an ability given to me from above. Even after I hurt my back at the age of 12, unless I had done something unwise, I could walk further and faster than any of my friends.

I made great use of the Scout pace, what was it ? 50 steps walking and 50 running, repeat over and over 'til destination reached. Worked for me, I could catch my breath while walking enough to run another set. I wonder what the aerobics experts would say about that operation ?

I would do it if necessary, but trudging through the snow was not my idea of enjoyable walking. Too slippery and uneven. I was at my best on even ground, even wearing a raincoat if necessary while getting my face washed. I existed in my short sleeved shirt if possible.

I became proficient at walking to the point that I could go to our Amusement Park on the street car, play all day there and then walk home which was about a five mile stretch.

Walking was a pleasure to me. I had unrestricted vision all around me. Guess that is why I became a motorcycle fan when I bought a used one.

Walking in the city I could hear what was going on around me, the clack of a hammer setting a nail in the frame of a house, someone sawing wood made a distinct sound also. As a boy I think I could identify most noises and with binaural hearing determine the direction from which it originated.

Very little escapes a walkers eye, unless he is a good sleepwalker. I had the curiosity and interest of the young, so I observed much.

Walking in the warm air, meeting a cool breeze now and then, smelling things growing as well as smelling the odors of lunch cooking, cake or cookies baking. Trying to determine direction and whether it was a fire truck or a police vehicle, maybe an ambulance when sirens were heard was cause for to sharpen my senses.

When I walked, the feeling of being knee deep in life and all its variations, of feeling united with everything in the whole world was a very strong sensation to me.

Walking made my body grateful, my joints loose and easy moving, and although I did not know the term, "Range of Motion," when out walking I usually managed to put my limbs through the full range of motion exercises. Not deliberatly, but a few running paces, walking rapidly, chasing various animals, climbing trees, trying for distance and accuracy while practising my rock throwing and doing other nip ups of the young kept me limber enough.

When I became old enough to try for the companionship of girls it became obvious to me that walking to some kind of activity, party, show and then walking back with a girl friend was the best part of the occasion. Privacy to talk, and to talk softly, to hold hands sometimes swinging our connected hands back and forth. Maybe doing a short round of tag to work off steam. But the feeling of closeness was there for me.

I had this problem though, it was hard to find a girl who was willing to walk as far as I proposed and we would catch a street car. Even so, the walk back and forth to the carline could often be deftly stretched. Instead of taking the streetcar that traveled on Pearl Street in South Denver I would often be able to persuade the girl to walk with me to catch the street car that went the same direction on Broadway, a distance usually of 7 or 8 short blocks to her house.

The walking and talking became the most enjoyable part of our outings, at least it was for me. I doubt that most girls were as interested in learning about a boy's character and personality as this boy was in learning about theirs.

There were two parks within easy walking distance, the big one, Washington Park and the small one near the neighborhood library. Sometimes buying a bottle of pop apiece on the way to go with the sandwiches we carried a girl and I would spend some time at one of the parks, supping and learning how to be social creatures.

I guess one of the things I despise is the physical limitations that I have now, bad back, poor heart, diminished smelling and sight, arthritis, all of which keep me from the sport of using my Legs . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008