Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 14, 2006 - 21:46 MDT

IS SPOONERIZED

I have always been amazed and amused by the adventures of Rev. William Archibald Spooner (born in London England 22 July, 1844. The man was a cleric, professor and scholar who had the unfortunate disorder of transposing syllables and parts of words, often to hilarious effect.

Many examples of his phrasing can be found on Google.

I do remember that in the magazine "The Saturday Evening Post" in the humor section, Col. Stoopnagle would tell a Spoonerized story. Each issue would have me in stitches. One I seem to remember is Mary Lad A Little Ham.

But, you know it seems sometimes that the whole world is attempting to communicate by the use of Spoonerisms. Or perhaps, maybe in Un-Webstered language, understandable only to each other and outsiders not welcome.

Cease Fire ? Fease Sire ? Will those who will be attacked after the Fize Seer survive ? Will they ever have a life worth living ?

I'd like to be optomistic, but U.N. Forces haven't had much luck in other countries. They get in there, muddle around a while and finally pull out leaving things in as much of a mess as they were when the U.N. went in. Peacekeeping -- KeacePeeping -- Giant Sleeping.

Oh, heck, I wish that the powers that be speak and understand PEACE. Give each other the space they need to live peacefully and be open minded -- live and let live about it.

I highly resent anyone telling me how to think and feel, telling me what to believe, and punishing me if I don't. Why won't the upper echelon back off and let the rest of us go about our daily business, working our jobs, raising our families and going to the old fishing hole now and then ?

Wonder if all the politicians and so-called diplomats are all milling around in the Tower of Bable (babble ?) speaking in a language that they can't understand themselves.

It would appear from the events in process that our world IS SPOONERIZED . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008