Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-02-28 - 18:47 MST

February 28, 2001

Calendar

At Twelve-oh-one AM tonight we will have just turned the page on Shorty, the 28 day wonder.

I wish there was something glowing that could be said by this person about February. The best I can come up with is maybe this man will be climbing out of the SAD hole, looking for buds and green sprouts and praying that what braves the atmosphere doesn't get iced in March and April.

March and April in Denver can be blustery and cold, very often those are the two months when the most snow falls, wet and heavy.

Yet each day dawning brings with it a promise, lightly carrys a bit of the perfume of blessed spring.

It's there, in the air, waiting for the rest of the surly, sniveling, sneaky winter to give its last gasp for yet awhile.

February, the shortest month of the year. It knows it is not welcome and exits as quickly as it can. It however runs a bit late every four years and almost gets it coat tails caught as it leaves just a breath ahead of March on the 29th. Sure messes up the birthdays of people born on that day.

This month, besides being a beast to spell, is lenient at times. In certain parts of this country spring is there in all its glory in February, makes me jealous too. As they say, "Everything in its season," what they didn't tell me was that the seasons blow hot and cold depending on where you live in the USA.

I should know because in the summer time it is possible for me to go from almost semi-tropical heat up, up into pure winter, high in the Rockies. Remembering, if reminded, that winter comes early Up High and stays late.

Each month seems to have its own character as well as its own name. It always surprised me after I caught on to some of the cuss words that the names December, January, February and March were not preceeded by damn or sh___y.

Winter and I tolerate each other, it comes and lasts and I do not flee south, but we don't speak as we co-exist.

This February though has been very special and happy for us all, at least all of us who know of Kaycee, the Sushine Warrior. It was in this present month of February, 2001 that she left the IV League, is in remission and working at healing a battered immune system and gaining strength as each day passes. The Warrior is victorious again. Now striving to outrace the nurses on the floor.

So this month of February has a fine luster for her that is not likely to be enjoyed another year, but looked back on as a month of coming out of the starting gate.

In the course of this yammering, I changed my mind, February can be a good month on the Calendar . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008