Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 29, 2006 - 23:30 MDT

HOME FROM THE HILLS

A combination of good fortune allowed me to have an adventure I thought was impossible for a man my age and physical condition. Four glorious days away from town, in Utah, visiting Heather's brother and seeing his environs.

We went up to Apria in Golden, Colorado who supply my oxygen services trying to find out if I could get enough bottled oxygen to allow me four days away from town and still get as many live bodies as we planned. Happy was I when they told me that they could supply me a bottle of LOX (liquid oxygen) such as I use here at home to fill my helios, which would fit and last me those days.

And then our son was able to come along and drive us there.

The second thing was a great thing as Heather's brother is our son's favorite uncle.

I do not travel well anymore, yet the two of them kept me comfortable as possible along the way.

The first leg of the trip was quite familar to me, along I-70 through Glenwood Springs, familiar but welcome to these old eyes. But at Rifle we went north and gradually worked our way to Duschene, Utah where Heather's brother met us and led us to his property about 15 miles from town.

Made me wish I had followed my studies on geology I had taken in high school. Glenwood Canyon is a sight in itself, but the country north of Rifle presents views unimaginable. As near as I can figure out it was old seabed, presenting mesa after mesa of unbelievable formations. Some areas it appeared as if some giant had heaped piles of technicolor sand in a weird patterns.

Heather's brother's place is on high ground, with a view of the Uintah Mountains north of there, majestic in themselves. The land thereabout is mostly sage, cedar brush and other evergreens. Dry, dusty and reminded me of the time I spent at the mesa in southwestern Utah. The same crispness in the air, and Heather said the smell of evergreen growth was quite plain to her, I remembered how invigorating that smell was to me back then.

Her brother took us around to many places near to his area, sights galore, main trip was up to Moon Lake at the base of the Uintah Mountains -- a very frontier type place, but yet a resort of everyman type.

Uncle and our son made plans for him to come up and help his uncle frame up a house there for his uncle, and they spent much face time visiting, a joy to our hearts.

And there, I rediscovered the night sky as seen from a spot far from the glaze of city lights. A treat I thought I would never again see. Glorious the sight to me.

Eventually, of course, the time came to leave, no tears but regrets it should end so soon. And after most of a day we were HOME FROM THE HILLS . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008