Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 06, 2006 - 23:45 MDT

A TIME OF SADNESS

Over ten years ago Heather's older sister was put in a nursing home, she having Alzheimer's to the extent that family couldn't care for her.

Having received a call tonight from one of her sons that she is dying, Heather and I changed clothes and went out there.

She is ninety years old and has been in Hospice Care for some time now.

It is heart breaking, Heather and her younger brother are the only two out of eight siblings living after the sister passes on.

It is a sadness to my heart as Heather's family took me in as one of them when we married. From an only child I went to the privilege of having brothers and sisters and slews of cousins. All who welcomed me as one of them.

It puzzles me just how to help Heather through this. I guess being by her side all the time, responding to her wishes and trying to read her mind and see what her inner person needs.

So, I may make daily entries, albeit short ones. But the priority is Heather's welfare . . . . . .

So, we shall survive this period and go on with life after saying final farewells to her Sister in a few days.

Everyone faces A TIME OF SADNESS . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008