Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 11, 2006 - 20:45 MDT

WORDS, WORDS, WORDS

Foreign words have that exotic feel about them, but often describe to a tee just how I feel.

I am not a person who feels schadenfreude (pleasure derived from the misfortune of others). A rather sneaky way of expressing our true feelings by saying, "I am in a period of schadenfreude." Hoping that no one understands what is actually being said. Much like the feelings of the ins after election, no ?

But there is another German word that expresses something that affects me tonight. Weltschmerz (world weariness over the evils of the world).

Events over the last few years tend to slant me in that direction. Sometimes puzzling just why the world treats us thus. Fighting the realization of our mortality for one thing, especially when it takes loved ones from us. And, of course, it is the twelfth of Sepetember -- one day after the five year grieving over the terror attack in New York and the Pentagon. Still fresh in our minds is the horror of that.

But we shall survive, Heather and I, as we have these past years together. Treasuring and loving our family, who seem to be getting younger as us old folks drop by the wayside. But they are the future and the ones who will have to deal with the mess we elders have left for them. Now that willl cause them weltsschmerz as well.

It seems to be an early fall here in our town. Chilly at night, nice during the day, yet coming are the nippy nights of frost, falling leaves and skeletal trees reaching to the sky seeking help. Those are the times we gather close and stay warm and comfy enjoying each other. Then, soon the snow will blow, Boreas his icy fingers will throw, pointed icicles, you know.

But there is balm, after a season green will again come to us, bulbs poking up through the ground and the grass becoming turf once again rather than the hard brown stuff of winter.

Can't cry in my beer - - - no beer, and it would seem that I am fresh out of tears too. So, thinking of pleasant things of the past, present and future, I sit here and play with WORDS, WORDS, WORDS . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008