Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 19, 2006 - 20:47 MDT

A BREATH OF FRESH AIR

Heather and I picked the best of days to go to the mountains to see the Aspen trees. A yearly thing it is, and if we miss a year we suffer the most severe withdrawal pangs.

It was sunny, cloudless and the fearcasters said it would stay that way -- which it did.

We took the road up to Echo Lake, which is on the way to Mount Evans and were greeted with the Rocky Mountain Gold Leaf that we yearn to see all year long.

We were in the right place at the right time, the sun just where I wanted it to be, the Aspens were lambent, sunlit, glowing.

We had a grand day, and a lesson was retaught me too.

A picture I took showed me something I didn't see at the time of taking.

A lone pine, perched on a rock, defying all and sinking its roots in the cracks, braving the winds and the cold of the mountains, and staying green all the while.

Badly worded, I know, but that image will stay with me whenever my mood goes to the blue side.

Yea, verily, today was truly A BREATH OF FRESH AIR . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008