Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 29, 2006 - 21:59 MDT

A CREATURE OF HABIT

When I was a small child my Father would treat me to sights unimagined by me hitherto. Weather forecasts were not so "right on" as those of today, but by some esoteric knowledge he seemed to know the right time to go up in the mountains to see the Aspen trees in their splendor. Of course it was only after I began to take my own brood up in the fall that I realized what a short time existed to get a good look at them before frost had its way.

As time went on I was able to take a camera up on those treks and had great fun trying to get the best picture my camera was capable of. Heather's albums have many of those picturea.

Anyway, a trip up to see the Aspen splendor in the fall is a tradition with us.

Other little things have crept in in recent years, bringing in flowering plants to spend the winter inside with us helps put cheer in gear, you might say.

Today we potted two Geraniums that had happily spent the summer in our flower bed, watered them well and intend to leave them out until frost threatens for sure. Then we hope to have those two blooming their little hearts out all winter. That is another sign that fall is here and winter pends.

Earlier today Heather and I were out doing errands and I was busily snapping pictures of the fall foliage in the Denver area.

It, of course, follows the jewelling of the Aspen, the gold of the trees here in town. There are a few reds and so forth, but mostly is the golden glow of Nature's beauty.

We are doing a little bit to winterize the house, as much as we can, praying that natural gas is not as costly as last year. My personal winterizing is being seen to also. I've been digging out heavier wear, sweaters and tee shirts, mufflers, gloves and such like. Probably this winter they will be worn in our house as well as outside.

But for the nonce I shall wholly enjoy the technicolor scenery out doors.

I treasure tradition, much as Tevye, sometimes rebelling but other times I prove to be A CREATURE OF HABIT . . . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008