Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 22, 2006 - 23:15 MDT

SHARP LIKE A RAZOR

There is an article by George Will in todays paper on the Op Ed page. I won't quote it in full though. The heading is:

EXPIRATION DATE STAMPED ON 'STAY THE COURSE POLICY'

I think regardless of one's view on things the sentence that grabbed me would grab most anyone. Its the solution that is the puzzle.

George Will said in that sentence, Today the policy of 'staying the course' means Americans dying to prevent Shiites and Sunnis from killing each other."

There has been so much window dressing slapped on our situation by the pols in power, but boiled down to simple short words, George Will has it about right I think.

Which brings to mind an article in the October 18, 2006 issue of the Rocky Mountain News by Nedra Pickler of the Associated Press - - Headed:

BUSH SIGNS 'LIFE SAVER'

I shall quote just a bit of that one too.

Quote:

"The Supreme Court ruled in June that trying detainees in military tribunals violated U.S. and international law, so Bush urged congress to change the law during a speech on Sept. 6 in the White Houe attended by families of the Sept. 11, 2001, victims. He also insisted the law authorize CIA agents to use tough -- YET UNSPECIFIED -- methods to interrogate suspected terrorists.

So, as rough as our people have been treated by other countries, just how much rougher is it going to be now ?

That George Will condenses the position we are in in Iraq, he is, to my mind SHARP AS A RAZOR . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008