Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-03-05 - 19:00 MST

March 5, 2001

Smashed Hash

It is only for a week, but the eve of a trip is a bummer for me.

Most everything is packed, supposedly ready to be locked and tagged. But Heather and I are processing the "Doubt Yourself" phase and trying desperately to figure out what has been forgotten and if it will have tragic consequences.

We had a beautiful day to soothe us as we scurried about. I hope that all of March's bad weather for Denver happens during the week we are gone and that we will be able to go daffy about the daffs, sprinkle the sprouts, yadda, yadda.

Bittersweet it will be, this trip, our friend is as old as we are and in about the same physical condition so it will be a possible farewell visit.

The town and area we left in 1960 has morphed into some gigantic beast that has obscured most of the landscape we knew. All our other friends from there have either died or moved away.

Even so, it will be good to be with the lady and talk over the child raising years we lived as next door neighbors. There is a possibility that one of her three children will visit her while we are there.

She and Heather have stayed in touch all these years, something I think is not the norm. Her husband and I lost track of each other except when one of our wives would mention something to us.

And I can't go back to sprightly the age of 29 to 39 that I lived through while there.

So, I must go help Heather and try to spread oil on the dither and yon.

After it cools and is served, it is only Smashed Hash . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008