Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 04, 2006 - 19:30 MST

SUBDUED SUNSET

Life goes on pretty much as usual for the two of us. Heather and I have our routines and menus set up the way we like them and in such a way we can cope with whatever comes up - - barring catastrophes. So we plod along, doing errands and visiting with friends and relatives and such.

However life does not deal fairly with most of us, and the cards dealt are close to losing ones.

One of my dear web friends has a tragedy brewing, her grown brother has disappeared and can't be found.

Other friends are coping with some ailment or disability or another - most of them pretty well permanent. Not all are life threatening, but certainly make their quality of life much lower than it should be.

Some of my friends have lost loved ones in accidents or to terminal illness.

But it seems like each of us face our problems, but not silently though. Most of us write our souls in our various journals, blogs and diaries. Not train wreck material, but seeking the sympathy and comfort of those who understand such things and are friends.

I know the friendship, love and support we received when our dear son died of cancer was a source of great strength for us, and helped us to live our day to day life while grieving.

On our way home from errands this early evening we stopped so Heather could buy a greeting card, and while waiting for her I noticed the sunset in process. Angry clouds trying to obscure the sun and the sun backlighting clouds to the west of us.

The scene reminded me of the life we all are living and the troubles we have to overcome and still be somewhat tranquil when we can.

The maunderings of an old man here while looking at the picture of a SUBDUED SUNSET . . . . . . . . . . . .

17 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008