Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 24, 2006 - 20:30 MST

ABOVE ALL

Christmas Eves are a mixed bag for me anymore. Things past, things of the present and of the possible future seem to blend into a somewhat smudged picture.

Mom was taken from us around Thanksgiving time 63 years ago. Christmas was her favorite time of year, even now when Silent Night is played it brings a tear to my eye, it was our favorite carol. She knew Heather was pregnant, but never lived to hold a grandchild in her arms.

But then, the years of our Christmases together with our ever growing list of progeny brings the most pleasant memories and glowing feelings to me. Rob will be missed for sure.

And in the present ? Our youngest child, a daughter is visiting here from Oregon along with her hubby and two children, one a 6 foot three giant boy and a girl who is taller than her Mom, who is taller than Heather. Her hubby's folks live nearby (several miles), so their time is divided between families. Tonight they will spend the night and breakfast in the morning with his folks and all day tomorrow they all will be with us for the entire day and night.

It is only fair that it should be so, yet my selfish heart is rebelling. Feeling guilty on that bit of childishness, knowing that they all will be happy to be with us and his folks too at this season.

And then knowing and realizing that statistically I am well beyond my expected span of life (seeing how much I abused my body over the years) I know that there is not a string of Christmases left me.

So, I sit tonight counting my blessings, happy and a bit sad too. Counting on a good night's sleep and the joy of family tomorrow.

Knowing there are folks I haven't touched base with, cards forgotten to send, and hoping that everyone has a very Merry Christmas. Peace on earth and good will to men ABOVE ALL . . . . . . . . .

916 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008