Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 13, 2007 - 21:11 MST

GAG A MAGGOT

I tried to put in here an article that showed up in our morning The Rocky Mountain News paper, somehow I put in the wrong html name or something. I can't copy the whole thing over again, but the article was by Neil A. Lewis of The New York Times and is about remarks made in a radio interview of Charles D. Stimson, deputy assistant secretary of defense for detainees at Guantanamo.

Quote:"In his radio interview, Stimson said, 'I think the news story that you're really doing to start seeing in the next couple of weeks is this: As a result of a FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) request through a major news organization, somebody asked, 'Who are the lawyers around this country representing detainees down there ?' and you know what, it's shocking."

The reference was to a request submitted by Monica Crowley, a conservative syndicated talk show host. asking for the names of all the lawyers and law firms representing Guantanamo detainees in federal court cases." Unquote

Quote:Stimson who is himself a lawyer, then went on to identify more than a dozen of the firms listed on the 14 page report provided to Crowley, describing them as "the major law firms in this country." He said, "I think, quite honestly, when corporate CEOs see that those firms are represnting the very terrorists who hit their bottom line back in 2001, those CEOs are going to make those law firms choose between representing terrorists or representing reputable firms, and I think that is going to have major play in the next few weeks. And we want to watch that play out." Unquote

Quote: "When asked in the radio interview who was paying for the legal representation, Stimson replied, "It's not clear, is it ? Some will maintain that they are doing it out of the goodness of their heart, that they're doing it pro bono, and I suspect they are, others are receiving moneys from who knows where, and I'd be curious to have them explain that." Unquote

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

His attitude reminds me of a Gary Larson strip I saw long ago, a mounted posse sitting around a tree that had a mounted, roped, tied man with a noose around his neck and the man with the star on his vest said something to the effect, " Wal now, summa you want a trial. Okay, we'll have one right after we hang this dude."

In his mind it seems that all the detainees in Guantanamo are guilty, guilty, guilty of being terrorists.

Seems to me that Stimson reflects the philosophy of the administration but goes to the point of governmental blackmail to say the least.

Somehow though this seems to exceed even the worst Bushism line of thinking yet. Doubt if Cowboy GWB would condone this.

Turns my stomach to read stuff like this, to think some of our elite have such character defects (to put it diplomatically).

Hee, hee, dunno if he can get the attention of those super highly paid CEOs away from their striving to milk the most money out of their corporations. And if said lawyers are keeping the CEOs out of trouble, would they listen anyway ?

I probably am one by association and am about to hurl over this stuff that would GAG A MAGGOT . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008