Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 03, 2007 - 22:33 MST

PONDERING

Something I read in another person's diary today got me on the return path to my earlier adulthood.

It was mainly about the fact that often one person of a friendship is the doer, the instigator. The person who always drops by, phones, invites and so forth.

And in thinking it over I realized it was true for us. There were and are many reasons that this should be so, I think. Much like it is for our family gatherings for birthdays and such. The celebration is always on a Sunday -- because folks in our family younger than we are, work for a living, ergo Sunday celebrations. Some are as we once were, tied to a host of progeny and spend much of their time washing, cleaning and caring for their children - spare time for us at that time of our life was just a dream and probably is for them too.

We had friends who couldn't afford the gas to do anything but go to and from work, the grocery store and the doctor when needed. But, they were the most excellent friends. And there were some hard times when we couldn't afford the gas and friends came to see us.

And there have been a few, who were fairly well off, had plenty of spare time but who never tried to set up a date to go swimming, to a picnic or invite us over to eat, but who always welcomed us when we came around, those I still puzzle about.

So, it seems to me that there is no user's manual for friendships, like in other things I play with the cards as dealt me and hope for the best.

One thing I have noticed is that people on the net seem to be more outgoing, friendly and caring. Maybe because to begin with they are more friendly to the world at large and love the interaction.

So, you know, in the long run there are many more reasons than people, and reasons and people seem to switch back and forth from time to time. Maybe it is just me, about who I am PONDERING . . . . . . . . .

4 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008