Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2001-03-25 - 17:28 MST

March 25, 2001

How Find What ?

This morning Heather said, "I (we) have to go to the locker today, please come with me Bastion. It'll just take me a minute. I know what I want and just where it is."

Once bitten, twice shy Bastion has an idea of what he is in for.

We arrive at the Public Storage locker, I unlock and try to pull the door up while simultaneously keeping stuff from falling out on me. Picking that stuff up and setting it aside, I back off and wait for her word.

Heather goes, "Hmmm, it isn't there where I thought it was, but I (Bastion as the delving beast) can find it in just a minute. Uh, Bastion let's take that big box over there off, 'cause what I want is just under it."

Well, to get to that big box over there a huge amount of, as the French might say Gahrbazhe (Garbage) has to be lifted down and moved out of the way. Finally the big box over there is down on the cement, and the box just under it has been lifted out by great effort Heather looks puzzled and shakes her head." There are a few typical comments she says in situations like this and she says, "Well I used that just a bit ago at Christmas, try over there, third box down in the stack."

Third box down in the stack contained something I would have trashed or taken to the Good Will long ago, but contents are sacred possessions of hers.

To make a short story a bit longer, that wasn't what she was looking for either, so the search goes madly on. Losing a bit of the litle patience I have, my comment diplomatically put was, "Which Christmas was that Hon ?" Ooo, shouldn't have said that !

Wearily Bastion pulls the stuff in the locker apart until the needed item comes into view, at the bottom of a stack in the back. While Heather riffles through all the items in the box, Bastion proceeds to lift, twist and bend putting the Treasure of the Inca's and Egyptians back in place. Damn stuff has to be shoehorned into the locker to be able to shut the door.

Man, I wish those lockers were circular with a built in Lazy Susan. But then, I can also imagine something precariously perched on one of the shelves falling off and jamming the works.

Heather looks at this tired sweaty dude and says, "Well, I wanted to get the Easter stuff while we were here. I guess you are too tired to do it today." Laying on the blacktop where I fell my comment, "What makes you think that dear ?"

So friends and fellow listeners, as the sun sank slowly in the West, we headed wearily home.

The real grungy part of the day is usually carting up from the underground parking to the apartment all the loot brought from the locker and shoehorning it in there. This time was a snap, one box, a heavy one though.

BUT I LOVE HER -- It is a Mars / Venus sort of thing I guess.

The old problem remains, "Where to put which and How Find What. . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008