Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 05, 2007 - 14:05 MDT

INTO THE SHADOWS

Backlit grand daughter Jen and Grandma Heather, took me many years back in my memory.

S and her hubby, our son Rob were living with us for a time, she pregnant and he establishing himself in a job (not having been out of the navy too long). S helped Heather as best she could while trying to make a home for she and her mate.

Winter of 1971 S was nearing term, being a good sport about things, she was doing well.

Our family was gathered around the table one cold evening playing cards when S said, "I think it is time." The card game went on and her comment carried no alarming content. Pretty soon in almost a whisper she said, "I think I need to go to the hospital."

That got everybody's attention and a grand scramble was made for the car, remembering to bring S along we headed out at high speed.

We were flagged down by a policeman and when we told him what was up and he shone his flashlight on S he saw we had a reason and told us he would radio ahead to the Denver police what the situation was so they wouldn't stop us.

Shortly thereafter Jen made the scene into our world.

S and Rob began to buy a house in Thornton, having a second child, another girl along the way, Rach was a doll too.

We've never really understood what happened between Rob and S, but they divorced. The amazing thing was that the two of them cooperated completely in raising their two girls. No fighting or recriminations, each went their own way except for loving attention to raising the two girls.

Many times through the raising of the girls Heather and I would be their host for a weekend or in the summer a week. So we saw both of them grow up, take part in school acitivities such as plays etc.

Jen got a job, a boyfriend eventually marrying him. She now has two boys of her own and is going on with married life while working a job as well.

But that picture brought the past back to life for me, all those years, all that love, all the loving care extended everywhich way.

While Rob was still alive he would have his grandsons with him as often as possible, made me very proud of him witnessing the love and attention he gave them.

Wonder what the coming years will bring, while Heather and I begin our trip INTO THE SHADOWS . . . . . . . . . .

5 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008