Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 11, 2007 - 21:01 MDT

RECENT MEMORIES

Tonight the old memories are crowded out by some more recent.

For Christmas 1998 Heather presented me with a WebTV rig including keyboard. At that time there being two TVs in our house I became enchanted with the net. Surfed like crazy, learning much and nosing around like mad.

I found journals/blogs/diaries and some things about the same but called by other names.

I ventured into communications on the web with trepidation, shyly sticking my nose out the window much like a dog breathing in a scent.

Al Schroeder's Nova-Notes was a journal that asked a question at the end of every entry and I began to e-mail answers to those questions. I could scroll down to see all the answers, enjoyed the operation much. I gained one friend there as our answers and thoughts expressed were quite similar in nature. But then I began to e-mail Bonnie, Sandy, Becky, Jaeme and many other folks and being pretty deaf I found it easy to hear what was written to me in e-mail form.

I joyfully entered this new world. Friendships became closer and I gained cyber Sisters, a cyber Auntie and a couple of cyber brothers. We were each different of course, but we jibed, we fit it seems.

Through recovery from the death of our son, people on the web comforted us, sent good wishes. When Heather was in hospital flowers were sent by members of the web.

In communicating with various friends on the web I expressed my doubts that I could ever keep a journal going and I was encouraged by all to give it a try. I thought, "Well, it might last for a month, I'll give it a try." I came on line with The Wondering Jew on January 15, 2000 and have enjoyed every second of it.

The lady who I met on Nova-Notes later consented to by my cyber sister and with that I became a cyber uncle to two adorable cyber-nieces and one great cyber-nephew, the relationship has built from there.

I remember the Memorial Book she made in our son's memory, a remarkable accomplishment and will remain a valuable, oft used book.

We had time to chat a bit this morning and she asked me, "What are you going to do especial for your real birthday today ?" and I replied, "Heather is going to take me to lunch, I get to pick the place." In the course of conversation I mentioned that one of my favorite places to eat was Noodles & Co., that I loved their Pesto Cavitappi. She said, (sorceress that she is) "Well if you go to the one on Youngfield there will be something nice for you there."

Now Sis lives and works near Chicago, so she must have been keying in Noodles & Co. got the address, discovered it was in our area and did her thing.

Heather and I had a trip to make to COSTCO which entailed bringing perishables and fragile things home so when we started out we went to eat first. When we went in I asked the lady there if anyone from Chicago area had called in, she asked my name and said, "Oh yes, your dinner is paid for."

Cyber sister's care and concern for two old folks moved me greatly, almost to tears.

So Heather and I ate our meal, thinking and talking about Kelli my cyber sister and her three kids.

Then pleasantly full we embarked for COSTCO and did our thing.

So the birthday celbration that seemed to last forever, did almost, last forever. But that is why my mind is so full tonight of RECENT MEMORIES . . . . . . . . . . . .

10 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008