Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 06, 2007 - 19:56 MDT

CARD PARTYS

He said, leaning back in his chair, "When I was a kid Mom and Dad used to take me with them to "card partys" where I would be on my best behavior. I had a bonus though, the mixed salted nuts, assorted candies and even milked down coffee was scarfed down by me with glee. Spacing things out a bit so as not to appear to be a greedy boy I managed to make it from one party 'til the next."

And that's the way it was for me, then I started to stand behind folks and tried to learn this Bridge Game. Learn I did and eventually I was allowed to play as a more or less substitute to make up a foursome. I pretty well got the hang of it, and enjoyed it for quite a long time.

But the fly in the ointment was the bitter, backbiting fighting that went on between so called partners. Finally I quit playing and would take a book to read, still getting those scrumptious goodies.

There were other games of cards and partys where games were played. One I remember was Pinochle partys. Folks were so much more civilized and happy, there were other gatherings where games were also played in a gentle way.

So I got the point over to Mom and Dad, I needed to be prepped on just what kind of activity was going to go on at these CARD PARTYS . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008