Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 13, 2007 - 22:48 MDT

NECESSARY EVIL

Or is it so ? Jumping around, cleaning house, making sure everything is squeaky clean and ready for company.

Pros are, periodic cleaning is necessary, I need the exercise, we love to the max to be surrounded by family. Cons, I am lazy, had to clean house for my April birthday, now in May had to do the same for Mother's Day, and come June have to go again for Father's Day. Overload for a crotchety old Scrooge - - - but considering the advantages, 'tain't bad at all.

Today was a good one, warm and pleasant, our Denver family gathered round our table where all sorts of goodies were consumed, much visiting done. Heather happily opened her cards and gifts, cards were passed around for all to see and gifts proudly displayed (no unmentionables in a one of them).

Our daughter Sue and her son Rich along with Grandma Heather, Sue, with mouth open and eyes closed. I wonder if she can see what she is saying ?

And then the best part was that we were together and visiting up a storm once again. It makes us so happy to be across town so that the kids can come visit easily.

Mother's Day is a holiday for us that is bitter sweet, as it is for most people our age. Heather and I have memories of our beloved Mothers who are long gone. My Mom passed on in 1943, knowing that Heather was pregnant but before our firstborn made the scene.

My Mom in her late teens in Sunken Garden park Denver.

Heather nursed her Mother through the final stages of cancer. She took Lilacs out to her grave today before our company came. I have a picture of her Mom but can't get it to upload tonight.

Heather went to bed tonight happy, deservedly.

4 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008